20 Books in 2014

You know how sometimes, you get in bed and start reading a new book, and you keep saying to yourself, “just one more chapter…” and then the next thing you know it’s 3 AM and you’ll be worthless the next day? I love that feeling. I love getting lost in a novel where I’m rooting for the protagonist or I’m biting my nails in suspense. I love reading a memoir of someone who used an ordinary life to do extraordinary things. I love learning something new or reading a quote so good you can’t wait to share it.

I’ve always loved to read. But it seems like as we get older, this thing called life gets in the way of the simple things that make us happy. Work, family, friends, relationships – they’re all important. But also important is making time for things you love, that are just for you. I want to rediscover my inner book nerd. I know she’s in there, she’s just been dormant for awhile.

So I have a goal:  20 books in 2014.

Could I realistically read more than that? Probably. I’m a fast reader. But I want this to be fun, not an obligation. And a book every 2-1/2 weeks or so seemed realistic and manageable to me. I’m going to mix it up too. Best-sellers, old favorites, memoirs, and even some chick-lit. I like it all, and I’m going to document it all on this blog. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

